Academic Awards and Honours

In their history, the institutes of the Göttingen Campus have been highly successful in attracting the "best minds". The outstanding scientists have established the international reputation of the institutions and continue to shape their profile to this day. Here you will find a small selection of the long list of historical personalities who have studied or researched in Göttingen, as well as an overview of current award winners.

Latest Awards

  • The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021 was awarded to the German scientist Klaus Hasselmann, along with Syukuro Manabe (USA) Giorgio Parisi (Italy). Klaus Hasselmann developed a model showing the connection between weather and climate, e.g. relating precipitation to long-term effects such as ocean currents.
    By this, he demonstrated that climate models can deliver reliable predictions despite short-term weather fluctuations, proving also the connection of increase in CO2 concentration in the atmosphere and global warming. Klaus Hasselmann completed his doctoral thesis at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization (MPIDS) in 1957 before he continued his scientific career at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg. The…
    Read more
  • Max Planck researcher Stefan Glöggler honored by the German Chemical Society
    For researching new methods to track cellular processes, Stefan Glöggler of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry and the Center for Biostructural Imaging of Neurodegeneration of the University Medical Center Göttingen (Germany) is awarded with the Felix Bloch lecture by the German Chemical Society (GDCh). He received the prize on September 29. Glöggler and his team recently succeeded in developing new efficient and fast methods to…
    Read more
  • Professor Teja Tscharntke receives Medal of Honor of the Society for Ecology
    Agricultural ecologist Professor Teja Tscharntke from the University of Göttingen has received the 2021 Medal of Honor of the Society for Ecology (GfÖ). Since last year, the GfÖ has been awarding scientists with this medal for outstanding and forward-looking achievements in ecological research. With his conceptual ideas on biodiversity patterns at the landscape level, Tscharntke is the "idea generator and mastermind of landscape ecology today,"…
    Read more
  • International Association of Agricultural Economists elects Professor Matin Qaim
    Agricultural economist Professor Matin Qaim from the University of Göttingen will become president of the International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE), the scientific professional society of world agricultural economists. Qaim has been a member of the IAAE Board of Directors since 2018, and his term will begin on 31 August 2021, with a period as "President-Elect" during which he will be responsible, among other things, for…
    Read more
  • Both were honored for their exceptional contributions to physiological sciences.
    “I feel very honored that the IUPS has selected me as an Honorary Fellow,” says Hell, Director of the Department of NanoBiophotonics. Emeritus Director Neher, head of the Emeritus Group of Membrane Biophysics, adds, “I was Vice President of the IUPS in the late 1980s and I still feel very connected to the society, so I am particularly pleased by this recognition.” In addition to Hell and Neher, Nobel laureate Peter C. Agre of the Johns Hopkins…
    Read more
  • The National Academy of Sciences has admitted the geophysicist from Göttingen into its ranks.
    Prof. Dr. Ulrich Christensen, director emeritus at the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS) in Germany, has been elected an international member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS). The association thus recognizes Christensen's significant contributions to the understanding of dynamical processes inside the Earth and other planets. Membership in the NAS is considered one of the highest honors for scientists. From 2002…
    Read more
  • With Jäckle’s election, the Academy recognizes the outstanding scientific achievements of the emeritus director at the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen. His basic research using the fruit fly model brought new insights on the general understanding of genes and molecular mechanisms that control organ formation and energy metabolism.
    ”Of course, as a European, I am delighted – and honored – to be part of the illustrious circle of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,” Jäckle says. The research of the developmental biologist has provided groundbreaking insights into the early development of the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster. In particular, Jäckle’s work contributed to a detailed understanding of how this development is regulated at the molecular level and how the fly…
    Read more