Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen

Campus Mitglied

Die Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen ist eine traditionsreiche Gelehrtengesellschaft und eine außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtung. Sie vereint herausragende Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen über Fach- und Ländergrenzen hinweg, betreut Langzeitprojekte von internationaler Bedeutung auf dem Gebiet der geisteswissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung und treibt die Digitalisierung voran. In zahlreichen Veranstaltungen sucht sie den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit in gesellschaftsrelevanten Fragen oder bietet vertiefende Einblicke in spezielle Wissensgebiete.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Im Bereich der geisteswissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung ist die Göttinger Akademie der Wissenschaften die größte außeruniversitäre Einrichtung in Niedersachsen. Sie betreut derzeit 20 langfristige Projekte im Akademienprogramm, dem größten geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschungsprogramm Deutschlands, das von Bund und Ländern gefördert wird. Darüber hinaus forschen die Mitglieder der Akademie gemeinsam mit anderen Experten in den elf bestehenden Arbeitsgruppen zu spezifischen Themen der Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften.

Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen verfügt über eine Bibliothek mit eigenen Publikationen und Publikationsreihen sowie über den Dokumentenserver Res Doctae, der seit 2010 den Mitgliedern der Akademie und ihren wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen und Projekten die Möglichkeit zur elektronischen Publikation bietet. Die Akademie fördert herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses mit Preisen und verleiht die Gauß-Professur, die renommierten Wissenschaftlern aus dem Ausland die Möglichkeit bietet, als Gast der Akademie einen Aufenthalt in Göttingen zu verbringen. Zu den Themen ihrer Forschungsprojekte organisiert sie Sommerschulen, bei denen Schüler aus verschiedenen Ländern teilnehmen.

 

Kooperationen mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen

Die Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen ist seit Januar 2012 Kooperationspartner des Göttingen Centre for Digital Humanities (GCDH). Außerdem beteiligt sich die Göttinger Akademie an der Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI), eine Initiative der Regierung, die dem deutschen Wissenschaftssystem ein Netzwerk von Diensten und Beratungsangeboten für das Forschungsdatenmanagement zur Verfügung stellen soll. Für ihre digitalen Aktivitäten nutzt die Göttinger Akademie den Service der Gesellschaft für wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung mbH Göttingen (GWDG) und arbeitet mit den IT-Experten der Göttinger Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek (SUB) zusammen.

Kooperationen gibt es auch bei öffentlichen Veranstaltungen der Göttinger Akademie. Zum Beispiel bietet sie mit der Universität Göttingen jedes Semester eine Ringvorlesung an. Zusammen mit der Braunschweigischen Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft organisiert sie einmal im Jahr eine Vortragsreihe im phaeno Science Center in Wolfsburg.

Nachrichten

Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Campus Member

The Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities is a learned society rich in tradition and a non-university research institution. It brings together outstanding academics across national and disciplinary boundaries. As a research institution, it is in charge of long-term-projects of international importance in the area of fundamental research in the humanities. It also promotes digitisation in research and pushes for free access to academic publications online. The Göttingen Academy organises and participates in numerous public events. On these occasions, it promotes dialogue on questions of social importance and offers in-depth insights into particular areas of knowledge.

Key Research Areas

In the area of fundamental research in the humanities, the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities is the biggest non-university institution in Lower Saxony. It is currently in charge of 20 long-term projects in the Academies' Programme, Germany's largest research programme in the humanities, which is funded by the German federal and state governments. In addition, members of the Academy engage in research on specific topics in the humanities and natural sciences together with other experts in the eleven working groups that currently exist.

Research Infrastructure

The Göttingen Academy has a library with its own publications and publication series as well as the res doctae document server, which, since 2010, has been offering members of the Academy and members of its academic working groups and projects the opportunity to publish electronically. The Academy promotes outstanding scholarly achievements by young academics with prizes, and it awards the Gauss Professorship, which offers noted academics from abroad the opportunity to spend a period in Göttingen teaching and researching as a guest of the Academy.

It organises summer schools on the topics of its research projects in which students from various countries participate.

 

Cooperation with other research institutions

The Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities is a partner of the Göttingen Centre for Digital Humanities (GCDH) since January 2012. The Göttingen Academy is also a member of the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI) initiative, which was founded  by the government in order to develop research data infrastructure for the humanities and sciences. For all these activities, the Göttingen Academy uses the services of the Gesellschaft für wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung mbH Göttingen (GWDG), Göttingen's IT competence centre for scientific data processing.

On several fields of digital research the Göttingen Academy works together with the IT-experts of the Göttingen State and University Library (SUB). The Göttingen Academy also regularly collaborates with other academic institutions with regard to public events. For instance, it offers a lecture series every semester together with the University of Göttingen and organises a series of talks together with the Braunschweig Scientific Society once a year in the phaeno Science Center in Wolfsburg.

Latest News